Learning About G28

Understanding G28
I hope this is appropriate to post here. Didn’t know where else to put it. Maybe would make more sense as a project?

Background
I am new to CNC. I have recently been using a Shapeoko then upgraded to an X-Carve. In my job I have had the fortune recently to have at my disposal a wealth of resources on the Autodesk CAM team that I have been pestering for information on my quest to learn more about using CNC machines. One of the topics that I found most confusing and caused me the most grief in the beginning was the concept of Machine Zero, Work Zero and most importantly Zero Return (reference point). Disclaimer I work for Autodesk with the Fusion 360 product so my references here will be specific to the output from Fusion 360 (or HSMWorks) but really it is pretty universal to most CAM programs I would imagine.

Also by no means am I an expert, this is my attempt to distill what i have learned recently. I am more than open to feedback. I just wanted to share this for anybody that is going through the same thing.

This topic is important if you are going to be using other CAM tools like Fusion 360 that have generic Grbl posts.

I also made a video here:

Machine Zero, Machine Coordinates

Machine Zero is typically the lower left hand corner of your machine. On an X-Carve with limit switches the machine “finds” this position when you run the homing cycle. If you do not have limit switches (or do not run a homing cycle) then machine zero will be where ever the spindle is when you turn on the machine or reset the G-Shield.

This would be Machine Zero after running homing cycle:

Work Zero, Work Coordinates