2nd carve getting things running

this is my second carve and I wanted to show how I went about it. The pic is coming right off the machine what you see is what it did no clean up. I’m a machinist for a living and after my first carve I decided that with my second carve I would treat it like it was steel that I was citing so what I did was raise the material I was cuting closer to the spindle and shortened up my cuter so it was only sticking out a about .5 of a inch and keep my spindle further up I just stacked up scrap wood I had laying around to get it higher up and screwed it down I ran my spindle on 5 can’t remember my feed rate but will post after I look later

1 Like

That looks very good for just your second attempt. Looks like you did a great job putting the machine together.

But here are a couple of things I have learned using the X-Carve. Please take it for what any free advice is usually worth.

If you are using the Dewalt then 5 is a much faster RPM than you really want. For cutting wood with most normal bits and endmills keeping the Dewalt on 1 or 2 is about where you will want to be. At setting 1 the Dewalt is spinning at about 16,000 RPM which is near the upper end speed of most dedicated spindles.

I am not sure why you had to stack wood under your material. Is your spindle not able to get any closer to your wastboard? The more pieces you stack up the more chance that the base the work is sitting on is not level and perpendicular to the spindle, which can cause a very uneven depth of cut.