A few thoughts i am curious about, please advise

I am new to the cnc router scene, but am a cnc machinist. I am hoping that this endeavor turns out well. I ordered my machine last week (1000mmx1000mm) and while I am waiting on its delivery I have been reading the forums, and watching videos. Before I even have my machine I have some questions and thoughts.
  First i was specifically looking for something on making a x,y locating stop, a semi permanant one, and maybe i didnt dig deep enough but didnt find anything i was looking for. I have a laser engraver, and when i first got it i made a locating stop just off of the homing location. (think of how a square is in the shape of an L) i put the offset in and everytime i engrave i start from that location. so i was looking to do something simaler for the xcarve, it makes things simpler say if i turn something on my lathe and want to engrave on it and if I were to change bits but carve on the same piece of material.. anyone know of some like this i can watch or  read on how they went about it? I have some ideas but i would like to see how others did theirs. thank you in advance.