A friend asked me to copy a tray

I had a friend ask if I could make a “tray” for someone with my Xcarve. The tray was a strange shape, with a ledge and pocket, and the same mirror image on the second side. It would be very difficult for normal woodworking tools to create but the Xcarve should be able to do without trouble.

Being a novice I said sure. So I started to draw it up on Easel and finally had a fair representation. With some help from the forum I figured out the toolpaths and tried the cut. Turned out my drawing wasn’t that good and I wasn’t able to get it much better using Easel or Inkscape. Turned out my dimensions came out a bit long in the “X” direction. Being 2-sided I did a fair job on the mirroring of the tray (with help of alignment/locator dowel pins), but all in all it was a unsuccessful project. It was a good learning experience. It lead me to recheck my machine for alignment and calibration, all OK, Next was reading on a number of CNC topics to determine where to go next. I found I had used nominal bit OD rather than actual which accounted for a longer than expected part.

Having a new copy of ArtCam express I decided to try it and found the drawing process was actually pretty straight forward and after some practice I can draw a project such as this fairly quickly. The toolpath process in ArtCam is more complex than Easel and required a number of Project files (side 1 and side 2) and required a number of toolpaths: locator pin pocket cut, ledge clearance cut (side 1 and side 2), pocket clearance cut (side 1 and side 2), outline relief cut with careful use of the single bridge in ArtCam.