A poll on cnc software online or offline

I think this would be a very good and timely poll.
kind of along the lines of do you prefer

1. online cnc software
  2. offline cnc software
  3. no preference

while it’s true there are both online and offline software ,both free of charge and commercial, It’s still nice to get feedback from people (if it’s constructive).
personally I fail to understand why online software is used at this time as internet is just not reliable or available in all suitable locations.

reasons to prefer online
There does seem to be a lot faster updating and bug fixing with online software.
regular new features added swiftly

reasons to prefer offline
obviously no need for internet
more stable, less likely to crash

Please expand on reasons for both online and offline

I’ve been working with offline CAM programs for about 5 years now and have machined some fairly complex parts. These have been in CNC mills. I ordered my machine on May 31 so have some time to wait before I start assembling and modifying it.
I will run the machine offline as well.

There may be a place for online programs for CNC work for the folks starting out and on a tight budget.

Dave

Offline. It just makes it easier to develop an idea when you don’t have an Internet connection.

I’ve been going through this process as I recently ordered an X-carve as well.

After much thought I decided to go offline.

I tried using Easel, but it was very slow and clunky for me. Forum members suggested much better performance with Chrome as the web browser and this did provide marginal improvement over Internet Explorer, but I became painfully aware of the limitations I was placing on my work by going this route.

Also, I have issues with storing my data “in the cloud”. I guess it’s best coached in vulnerability. You don’t have control of your data. It’s only available if all the links between you and the server are working (power grid, internet connectivity, ISP servers, and so forth).