Adequate computer to run X-carve

Hi there. Total noob here waiting for my 1k x 1k X-carve to arrive. I am wanting to get my workstation set up and am wondering about an adequate computer system. It seems most are using a dedicated machine, which I’d like to consider. We have several Macs in the house, but it seems most serious CNC software is developed for the PC primarily. I have access to some older PCs and Macs and wanted suggestions on the ideal dedicated system. What do you need? What is adequate if running the CNC software is all this system is doing. I would likely be doing all my design on my iMac or Macbook Air, then transferring the models to the this system to prepare the toolpaths and run the machine. I have Aspire and am learning Fusion 360. Thanks for any advice.

Hey man, all I can advise is based on my current situation. Basically I am using a powerful PC to run cad/cam and export the G-code. the G code is then send to the machine from a very low powered laptop. Universal G-code sender will run on most things as it is very small. The trouble will be the CAD/CAM work. I have used sketchup on low cost pc’s and it runs just, I wouldn’t want to try anything more than sketchup, The PC I do cad/cam work on is an Audio Production PC I built, running mac OSX and windows. I do all of my work in windows for cad. Here are the specs:

Core i7 3770k
16GB ddr3 1333 ram
GTX 760 GPU superclocked
2 120gb SSD’s
1 2 tb media drive

It runs solid works perfectly

1 Like

If using Easel, the bigger thing will be your video card.

I have a not-new-anymore i3/3.4Ghz with 6G of RAM running Win 8.1 and on-board video, and, it’s fine for most everything. Actual CAD apps run great, as does the cloud-based stuff (I’ve been playing with OnShape).

For me, the Easel 3D-preview in Firefox is a bit slow, but, running it in Chrome is way worse.

That’s a nice set up , I’m running an hp laptop with 12 gigs ram
2 gigs nividia graphics memory
4th gen Intel i7 over clocked