Advice on X-Carve Requirements

Hi all, new here. I’m contemplating buying an X-Carve machine (500 or 750mm model) and need some advice.

A little background on me: I consider myself a total noob to CNC, I had one class where we used a big commercial CNC for about a week in college quite a few years ago. I’m a licensed professional engineer for my 9-5, but my specialty is in HVAC, refrigeration and thermal systems…not machine/part design. I’m proficient in 3 different CAD platforms we use in the office to create our mechanical designs (MicroStation, AutoCAD and Revit). My big hurdle for me right now is keeping up with the lingo and figuring out all the components of the system and what they do. Enough about me.

I mostly want to machine aluminum parts (occasionally smaller wood items) and would like to be able to machine a wide range of grades of aluminum if possible (haven’t landed on what grade I wanna work with yet, kind of experiment for a while). I don’t really expect fast machine rates compared to a commercial machine, so slow and steady is okay with me. I mostly just want to know exactly what I need to get started machining aluminum to a reasonable degree of accuracy and consistency that won’t be too hard on the machine and produces a nice finished result. From what I’ve read there may be some upgrades to the spindle (VFD) that I’ll need to do as well as providing a chip removal system of some kind. No idea what kind of software would be best…I see that the packages come with Easel, but don’t know how that compares to others I’ve seen mentioned and I’m not sure how I feel about an online modeling software on my home internet.

If anyone has a good clear list of things I’ll need to upgrade/modify on the X-Carve to do what I’m thinking, that would be very much appreciated. Thanks!!

Welcome to the community!

Disclaimer: I haven’t cut aluminium yet.
Nonetheless I hope I can give you a few hints with my thoughts.

First of all: