Am I using the wrong post?

Hello,

I was wondering if I’m currently using the wrong post.

Since I’m not currently able to use RhinoCAM (I’m still learning it), I make all my drawing with Rhinoceros, export them as .dxf and generate the toolpath with Vectric Aspire which a friend generously let me use from his laptop.

Anyway, as I said I generate the toolpath (2D for the moment) and of course save them with grbl.8c (mm) (*.gcode) as this is the only post available for grbl (except the imperial one)

I send the file to the machine using UGCS but I noticed that the current grbl version is something like v0.9j.

I have never update the grbl on the machine since I have it (March 2016), should I do it? And use another postprocessor for Vectric, or is ok as I’m doing? Because I can’t find any other post for Aspire and don’t want to make a mess.

Alex

I think that Aspire uses the same post processors used with Vcarve PRO/Desktop. If so, you can find the ones for the X-carve here:

Hello,

Yes I casually found it and downloaded. Do you think I need to update my grbl version anyway? I don’t know what is currently installed.

When you open the COM port for your X-carve in UGCS it should show you the version number of grbl in the console window.

Nice! I’ll try in the afternoon.

Do you think at least I should update if I have a version older than the v0.9i? There’s some improvement in it?

Personally, I run version 0.9j. It is the latest stable release of grbl. I would upgrade to this version if you have an older version.

Some people are using version 1.0c which is still in development and is changing frequently.

So, correct me if I’m wrong: Using 8c as post, is better to have 8c installed too?

I guess the post made by Vectric (the one you posted too) is the latest post available (unless I’m totally confusing how post work and supposed that 8c is an older version), so update grbl should be mandatory for a correct “dialing”