Any advise on buying a used Xcarve?

Howdy- I have the chance to purchase a used xcarve. The owner is a solid guy and I trust his description of the machine. He says it’s a first gen machine with the Dewalt router. I have some experience with laser cutting (Glowforge) and vectors (mostly Inkscape) but have not done any cnc work. I think the price will be low enough so that I won’t feel obligated to use it to make money. I don’t mind tinkering, but I don’t want to spend 5 hours of repair work to do 1 hour of cutting every time. I also don’t have a of lot extra $ to upgrade right now, but perhaps later. I can do a lot with my laser, but I know I can do different and cool stuff with an xcarve. What advice do you all have? I tried to find info on the generations of machine but came up empty handed- are they are all backwards compatible to a point (meaning most of the main structure is the same between generations?). I also know it’s been sitting for a bit, anything hurt by that?
Thanks,
Sugi