Are these models that X-Carve can carve?

Hello everyone. Thanks for taking the time to read this post.

I have been lurking the forum for about 6 months now, and finally decided to participate in some posts. I am a new CNC user.

I was looking for a CNC router on a budget so I decided to go with the X-Carve. I thought it would be fun to put it together and learn how it CNC works. With this being said, I am still very new to the terminology being used and also some commonly used abbreviations. I just google everything until I figure it out.

I have upgraded the spindle to the Dewalt 611. I plan on ordering the 1/8th inch collet that I keep reading about to take advantage of some fine detail bits. So far I have completed one test cut on the stock spindle after initial set-up of the machine.

I downloaded the trial version of V-Carve Pro. I plan to buy it if it is the most suitable program for what I need. With that being said, please look at the attached files. What is the best way, in your opinion, to accomplish making these models?

These plaques are 3" x 6" x .5" thick. I build them in Solidworks. My plan was to save them as .stl files and import them into V-Carve to generate toolpaths. To my knowledge, all these models are 2D or 2.5D (profile cuts with clearing in between letters, with a couple fillets on the border).

What I’m thinking is to just treat these plaques as a mini “raised text sign”. Plus a profile cut that removes the plaque from the material (with tabs to hold the work piece in place). I have some fine detail inbetween letters and in the corners. Will I have to clear all the unwanted material in between letters and designs with the same tiny detail bit?

Any help/direction/comments/questions would be greatly appreciated.

Best,
Eliott

Happy Valentines Day with Hearts.STL (588.7 KB)Scuba Diver With Text.STL (837.8 KB)Congratulations Text Only.STL (382.5 KB)

1 Like

Hey! Welcome to the forums!