Best software for the Newbie

I am very new to the whole CNC game and have a question about which software to use for designing carvings. After reading some of the post I understand that I won’t be able to use Easel to draw freestyle lines. Should I continue using Sketchup (which I am very new to too) or invest in the Vcarve software. Any insight is appreciated.
Also, some of the projects on here are very inspiring.
Thanks in advance

Basically any program that has the ability to export to .svg will work. I personally use iDraw for the Mac and it works alright. You can then import these files into Easel and cut to your hearts desire! Sketchup also works great, lots of people use it, I think there is an export to svg plug in that you can get for it.

If you have an extra $350 then you will not regret purchasing Vcarve Desktop. It makes the design and toolpath creation so much simpler than any other process I have tried. Except for Easel which is crazy easy to use, but limited.

Download the Vcarve trial and play with it a bit. The trial allows you to do everything except save a toolpath. But it will allow you to create toolpaths for some of their sample projects so you can verify that it will work with your machine.

1 Like

I concur with both Allen and Rusty, actually. I have been using a combination of V-Carve and my wife’s graphic art from ArtRage for a lot of my sign graphics. She draws it as a clean, JPG, and I use V-Carve’s import functionality to turn it into a perfect carving toolpath. Very straight-forward to use, as well.

I would suggest starting out with Easel, though, to become comfortable with the machine. SVGs are somewhat more difficult to work with than JPGs or other simple, web-sourced graphics, but they are available. And Easel is a remarkably well-integrated program that functions very well for simple work.