Bits 'n' bobs

But mostly bits…

Can some point me in the direction of where I can find the appropriate settings for Inventable’s colour-coded bits, please?

Thank you.

top left shop menu of the inventables.com site, the second item in that menu is carving bits…

Thank you.

I saw the ‘sales’ page, but is that all the info I need, i.e. shank diameter, cutting diameter, cutting length, overall length, and what it can cut? Don’t I need plunge rate, feed rate and speed, for example?

If you mean for that specific bit, then that is often situational. Sort of like how fast should you drive ona given road, well is it snowing/ icy, dry, sandy? So for a given material those numbers change. Easel has defaults for a given bit/material which are generally very conservative. You can experiment up for your given application.

2 Likes

Thanks for your reply, @HenryFeldman

To be honest, for a complete novice like me, I would like to think a recommended speed/depth of cut for each type of material could be included on the sales website information, and/or a reference table providing guidance.

I understand your analogy, but I think complexity (snowing/ icy, dry, sandy) comes with experience?