Brand New User Question: Issue with detail vs rough starting point

Hi all,

First time user this morning. First post this afternoon… lol

In an attempt to ease my way into this I tried to cut three stars out of pine. I set it up to do a rough cut with a 1/8" bit and then a detail cut with a 1/16" bit. Rough cut went fine but after I changed the bit for the detail cut and went through the steps to re-identify my z, etc. I chose to carve again. But, when I did the detail cuts were way off… not even close. Any ideas on what I did that to change my reference points on where it was supposed to carve.

Apologies for the lack of proper terminology. I am an uber newb at this.

Thanks for any help or suggestions you might have.

Did you select use last home position when going through the steps before your detail pass?

EDIT: Welcome to the Forum.
Russell

I just did another test on the opposite side of the wood and it was fine. I think I may have moved the router a little when I changed the bit out. I was much more aware this time. I used the controls to jog it to the center a specific distance. Changed bits - acquired new z axis. Then chose last home position. Worked well

Thanks for the reply, Russell. I’m certain I’ll be on here a ton moving forward.

Tom

1 Like

Search for this thread "Anyway to verify position " it will help you lock your motors

SteveMoloneyAug 20
Have you set your machine to $1=255 in machine settings? this will keep power to your stepper motors during a bit change so you cant move the carriage and lose your position.

2 RepliesReply

HaldorLonningdal
Have you set your machine to $1=255 in machine settings?

In addition to what Steve mention, also make sure dip switch #4 for each axis is =OFF.
(#4 govern Idle Current Reduction, located on the red switch blocks inside the Xcontroller housing)

1 Like