Bump stop and x and y zeroing

Hi I am looking for help setting up a bump stop I think it’s called or right angle piece in left corner that I can put my wood in and it will always be zero but I can’t figure out how to do so. I’ve looked on YouTube and I can’t figure it out completely, I currently eyeball x and y on the piece but would like to be more accurate and faster than that. Please if anyone could help I would appreciate it.

Lots of information already posted about using a bump stop.

Some results are shown below;

https://discuss.inventables.com/search?q=bump%20stop

Video on subject https://youtu.be/IwkVDzseCxs

1 Like

I’ve read most of them but I still don’t quite understand I am new to this sorry. I think what I’m confused about is the g codes and if I screw a piece of wood down all the way down the x and y axis how would I cut it and tell g code what I did. Thanks again. Sorry if you don’t understand what I’m saying.

Can you try again?

Okay so let’s say I put piece of wood down the x axis and y axis and screw it down so it doesn’t move, home my machine then type in g28 under the settings it’ll move to the location correct? Then what

If you want to use G28, you’ll have to set the location.
Home.
Move to where you want G28 into be.
Send G28.1

From then on, G28 will be at that location (home first).

That said, despite what you’ll hear and read on the forum, G28 is an unnecessary step. Set your zero, and it will remain until you set a different zero.

Assuming you have homing switches installed and they are towards you and to the left when machine is viewed from the front:

• Screw down a piece of sheeting slightly closer to you and further left, say by 2"
  • Carve a rectangle, with path set to inside, with machine zero as your work zero, this will create your bump stop.
    => consistent (within the precision of your switches) work zero, just Home and Go (re-zero Z though) :slight_smile:

Then G28 and G30 can be used as two different parking spots