CAD Programs

I have been cruising the web to learn more about Easel and other CAD programs.
I will be using a X-Carve machine
Are there preferences on which CAD to use?
I am new to this game.

Skip…

Easel lets you do quite a lot without needing other CAD packages. It works well for carving signs or engraving shapes and patterns into flat stock.

I like to do more 3D shapes which require more software features than Easel provides. I use Vectric Vcarve desktop for this. I can get 3D files from places like Thingiverse and with a bit of effort I can create tool paths for my machine to make that shape.

I believe that XCave sells software like Vectric at a discount. I would start with Easel and go on from there.

Thanks Harry…

CNC’ing is a 3 stage operation:
1 - Designing (CAD)
2 - Creating tool paths (CAM)
3 - Cutting (CNC, sending gcode to the machine)

Easel is a 3in1 package tailored for the Xcarve.

Almost any other CAD package is primarly 1 & 2 only, options are like:
Vectric, AutoCAD, Sketchup, Fusion360, Aspire, Solidworks etc etc.

Stage 3 require a “sender” and there are several to choose from, some of them are Easel, UGS, bCNC, Chilipeppr.

A post processor (translator) is needed to match the transition from stage 2 to stage 3.

What you design is what mainly define the ideal design suite, combined with personal preferences.

If you feel Easel is limiting your ambitions then look for alternatives.

2 Likes

Thanks Haldor.

Trying to what is best to start learning… I like you 3 stage analogy. It made things a little clearer…

I prefer Fusion 360 myself for the CAD part however it is more advanced as far as design goes. You can model an entire project you are working on then flat pack it down to apply your CAM. and you can either post out the g-code to use with easel or use a universal g-code sender (UGS). Easel is a great way to start if you are looking to ease into it. Great explanation on 3 steps process @HaldorLonningdal