Can Easel control a machine from a USB stick?

I wondered if anyone can help me. I am brand new to the subject of CNC machining and even newer to Easel. Would it be possible for the saved file to be downloaded on a USB stick and plug that into a control port of a CNC machine? My workshop is a long way from the house and has no internet. Thanks for any assistance.

If I am reading this correct, you are asking can you plug a USB stick directly into the USB port on the X-Controller and run code from that.

If that is your question then the answer is no.

you can generate your code inside with the internet and then install to a USB stick, take the USB stick to a seperate system connected to the X-Controller (without internet) and use a program that connects to the machine to control it and run the code from that (like UGS, Bcnc, GRBL-Web, cncjs etc).

2 Likes

I am sorry, I did not make myself clear. I had wanted to avoid the issue of taking the internet connection, via a hardwired solution, into the work area which is not connected to my home. I use a mesh network in the home to even up the signal throughout. Possibly I could consider installing another mesh node in the work area, which would give me an external internet connection.

When considering the machine to buy, I guess that I should include an offline controller too. Does the code generated by Easel support any machine or is it specific to X-carve machines? Thank you for your helpful answers this far.

The Universal G code sender is a program that runs off a computer not connected to the internet. You can design in Easel and then save the gcode to your memory stick.

Then go to your x carve wherever it is, open up UGS, open the program, and run the machine. I don’t have good internet in the house, let alone the shed away from the house, and this is what I do.