Carbide vs Easel

First post. Howdy!

Just about to make my first CNC purchase and need advice. I have been playing with Carbide and Easel for a few weeks and was looking for some input. I am a heavily experienced digital artist (Adobe) with very little 3d and no CAD/CAM knowledge.

After working with both platforms I find Easel much more intuitive AND the rendering is far superior. Not bouncing in and out of render/tool/apply etc. I don’t like the online usage of Easel but I like the interaction better. Also, Inventables seems to have a much larger organized forum and database.

That said… really like the Shapeoko as someone who comes from a mechanical background but Carbide turns me off . Am I missing something? I searched around but never see anything about Carbide rendering poorly. (No offense to Carbide… maybe I am handling it poorly.)

Again… i am new and looking for advice.

Thanks in advance,
Ken

I’ve tried to get into Carbide, but I do find Easel to be far more intuitive to use. Granted you become limited in what you do, you can’t render multiple different tools (other than roughing and detailing) on the same piece. You can’t fine-tune different tool paths, etc. But for most of your basic functionality, I find easel to be quite capable.

There are a few things that I don’t like about Easel, but overall I find it to be a very capable program for my needs.

2 Likes

Just to be clear, the CNC machine you purchase does not dictate the software you must use. For instance, I’m using a home-made cnc machine with an arduino/grbl microcontroller and i can use Easel or Carbide create (or any other g-code software with the correct post-processor). So you could get the Shapeoko and still use Easel.

1 Like