Carve with Easel or not

Hi to all!

Usual thing to start topic here - I’m new in all that carving technology :slight_smile:

I make some test projects with X-Carve, trying to use Easel in the beginning, but I still need to make a project picture and using now some drawing software (for me that is easier) and then import that to Easel, and then - carve.
Also I’m learning to work with Aspire - more options than Easel, but …
Easel still is needed to care anything.

As I understand - for carving, some use Easel, some use other software to send SVG, or G-Code (not for project developing, but for Carving).

So, question is - what advantages gives other G-Code carving software than Easel (first of all - that is free)? (or Easel only minus is that you should be connected to Internet).

PS. … or, probably, I moving totally in wrong direction, and I could cut projects directly from Aspire ?

I always recommend that you try all your options and see which one you like or suits your needs best. for some projects I use Easel as it is very easy to use and really does a great job. for others I use Inkscape then UGS (i.e. laser work etc.) and others I have used Bcnc for the auto-level feature (engraving logo on AR-15) which was not level and I only had one try to get it perfect. so there really is no easy answer but there is several great options.

P.S. I use Linux on a Raspberry Pi 3 with the X-Carve so there is that also.

While I have designed things in Easel, the only project I have done in Easel from start to finish was my initial test carve. After that I started using PicSender.

2 Likes

can you design in PicSender? I thought it was only a g-code sender like UGS.

Is PicSender free ?
Will check this software in two days. :slight_smile:

I agree. Picsender is worth every penny. Eventually I will be purchasing Picengraver Pro.