Carves not lined up

Sorry if this has already been covered but I could not find it. I am new to X Carve and have just been doing basic stuff. But now I’m trying some more complex stuff and it’s not lining up.

I downloaded the cribbage board plan in the projects section and tried to carve. I carved the holes first which I messed up on my board but anyway then I changed the bit re-probed the bit and used the same x and y as previous and the pics show my results.

Welcome to the community!

The misalignment seem to be inconsistant indicating that the machine lost steps along the way.
If the misalignment is consistent between tool change one possibility is that the machine position was shifted during tool change.

The Xcarve is an open-loop machine meaning that position is always assumed - if its shifted or was unable to perform some step commands the controller is unaware of that.

So basically what you are saying is that the X Y manually got moved when I changed the bit so it list position???

No, not really. If XY got moved during tool change the carve/2nd stage would be equally offset. This dont seem to be the case here though its hard to say for sure.
It is certainly possible to move it unintentionally during tool changes, atleast with the default $1=10 value (should be =255) and torque reduction setting of the Xcontroller which = ON. Inside the Xcontroller there are three red switchblocks, set switch #4 on all three to OFF.

You say:

Messed up in what way exactly?
Have you retried the project?

Hi also new to the XCarve and I know I’m having a problem with moving the carriage during bit changes. What is this (=255) you speak of? Is there something I need to change to stop this from happening. I have tried locking motors and that seems to do nothing. Have also tried clamping both sides of x and y rails by the wheels to prevent this but apparently I am wicked clumsy!