Carvey Cut accuracy issue

Hi,

first of all great machine and packaging.

I ran a simple test this morning using the bit that ships with Carvey.

I drew a simple rectangle that ran across the length of the acrylic board that came with carvey.

I wanted it to cut 0.1mm as this is something i will be doing a lot later with projects for shallow engraving purposes.

I set some simple parameters got all the sizes put in for the piece being cut, aligned everything and clamped all corners. cut depth was set to 0.1mm and i also told the machine cut depth to be the same.

0.1mm no results on the board.

then went to 0.2mm, no results.

then I went to 0.3mm and got an uneven cut across.

I am not sure what I am doing wrong as I am fairly new to carvey but have had better luck with x-carve, i did cut out my own wasteboard for x-carve that helped level the surface of the waste board.

any help is appreciated, thanks!

Hey Phil

I assume you are talking about the Z depth of the cut?

I notice from your photos that the workpeice is not being held flat to the bed - as there appears to be a shadow in the middle. You need to hold the workpeice down in more places

Hi Ben,

I can guarantee it was all flat down. find it very strange that both ends are exactly the same setup yet only one side had some cuts to it.

I ran another test on 5mm acrylic with some spray paint and noticed that the z axis was off. I wanted it to shave 0.15mm to 0.2mm of the painted surface but it was air cutting until I changed the depth pass and cut to 0.7mm. I remeasured everything to make sure It was not my mistake or entry mistake in easel. I then proceeded to cut at 0.7mm but it barley scrapped the ends but cut away at the middle section alright. I might try and use double sided tape to see if it could be the clamps pressed the edges flat to hard but the z axis seems a little off to me still.

I will make a sacrificial waste board when I have time.