Carving the same gcode 200 times

Greetings,

I’m new to the CNC machines and software. I have tried searching but unable to find an answer to my question. To start, using Easel I created an engraving. Its basically a “Property of …” engraving. To engrave my gcode I use a Sain Smart 3018. On the 3018, I made a jig where my blanks to be carved will be housed and secured. They will always be in the same place and are all exactly the same measurement. My gcode is executed using Candle. I home the machine, perform a z-axis touch, zero the x and y axis and send my code. Everything works fine there, once the engraving is done the bit returns to its set zero on x and y and the machine stops.

I want to remove the completed carving, insert a new blank, reset, and unlock the machine and run the same gcode again and again, 200 times. When I trying doing so Candle goes into alarm mode or the bit is too low and carves too deep. Is there something I’m missing? Would executing the gcode in UGS allow me to get this done? Candle 1.1.8 running on Linux Mint. To run the same gcode again, I need to rehome the machine, set touch my z-axis and reset my x and y. This is too time consuming.

Thanks for reading. Please help.

that sounds like a lot of extra work, try this out

OpenBuilds Software - FREE Software for CNC Control: OpenBuilds CONTROL and OpenBuilds CAM

after first setup you just need to hit run. you might have a small learning curve if you haven’t used it before.

1 Like

I use UGS. I would think you could modify your file in a text editor like Notepad to raise your Z, go back to x0,y0 and just have to hit run. You would have to clear the alarm only 1 time after you connect to UGS, depending if homing is enabled in the Grbl setting. Do you have an M30 as the last line in the program?