Changing From Carving to Laser

Can anyone tell me the settings that need to be changed to go from craving to Laser?
I know $32 has to enabled (for Laser). i would like to be able to mount my laser and change the settings to go to work. it always seems like i have to figure a bunch of things out first before starting.

1 Like

Depends on your laser and the program(s) you use to control it.
I’ve only had to change $32.

I set my $32 to 1 and never change it between the laser and cnc. I don’t have any trouble with it set like that.

Im thinking Lightburn. What do you guys use

I use Lightburn and Picsender. Used to use Lasergrbl but since switching to Lightburn that is the only one i use anymore for the laser. Wonderful program.

Make sure to change it if you ever have your spindle speed handled by the controller.

1 Like

Sorry I’m new to this. Controller?
I typically use Easel for design (carving) and then use Candle GRBL to run the Machine

@NeilFerreri1 will be able to help you with that.

Jay at JTech walked me through setting up macros in Lightburn to alternate GRBL settings. My machine would NOT run both without manually going back and forth. Not sure what you have for a laser.

Its a Sain Smart Laser 550mw

Why not? There shouldn’t be a difference.

The X and Y controls worked backwards if I used Lightburn to jog the machine.

That’s odd…what did he have you change?

I helped someone else with lightburn, and I think there is some general confusion of Grbl over there (Lightburn). It shouldn’t be an issue.

1 Like

Neil, I’ll have to look at the macro settings next time I go out to my shop.

I didn’t know you could run a laser on X-Carve. Where can I get more info on hooking up a laser?

I got a Jtech laser a few years ago and love it. Here is a link to there web page https://jtechphotonics.com/ There are a lot of laser on the market that you can use but i have had no problems and there customer service is great.

3 Likes