Closed-Loop dust collection

Hi All,

I have been pondering / conceptualizing a dust collection system that operates as more of a closed loop. In short, the same air gets circulated and “cleaned.”

My theory is that rather than let the vacuumed air escape after being cleaned, it would circulate back onto the work and blow/loosen the dust into the vacuum air stream.

I’m no engineer, so I don’t know the physics of this, but just following my gut in thinking that I can achieve more airflow, move more dust away from the work, and do it quieter.

Because of the stirring up of the dust, This would probably work better in an enclosure.

Just curious if anyone else has experience and/or thoughts on this concept?

Of course the air will heat up till it is at the same temp as the motor that it is supposed to be cooling. Then bad things happen.

In order to do what you want.
You will need to have a water system for cooling. (can be other but water system would be cheapest)
You will have to plan out a recirculating water cooling system that will be used to cool down the air. (As an example… Look at computer cooling and then you will have to scale that up a bit. Most use a pump and a fluid with a radiator.)
Once you have that you will need some way of taking the tiny particles out of the air. This we all use filters for.
You will still need to clean the filters. You can use a slot loading filter system where you have a slot for it and you just swap the old one out for a new one.
The parts and setup is not going to be cheap.

There are ways to cool down the air without water.
If you use something similar to a refrigerator for cooling and have the air pass through the cooling part.
OR…
You can use peltier junction devices. They are probably the easiest to do. Just make sure you get the driver for them as building a power supply for them is problematic if your not into electronics.