CNC Halftone images - Using DXF halftone

I just finished my x-carve and the project I’ve been really wanting to start with was these CNC halftone images, done with a v-bit, such as this one:

There are few different programs out there, but this DXF Halftone seems the most promising. It creates the halftone image from any .jpg you send it and will export g-code. Being a total noob, I’m wondering if anyone could help with settings for the x-carve, especially on these two dialogs:

Also, I don’t currently own a v-bit and need to know which one to get. If you haven’t checked out this application of CNC, it is really awesome.

6 Likes

Well, in case anyone is interested (crickets…chirping), I got this program working on the X-carve. I used DXF Halftone on Windows (running on Parallels for Mac) to create the Gcode, then moved it to my Raspberry Pi and ran it with GrblController, which is simple and seems to work well (my first time ever using a Raspberry Pi or anything other than Easel). I used a 90 degree V-bit I bought from Inventables. Running time was 100 minutes for an image with 2450 dots. The resulting image was slightly under cut, meaning I didn’t have my Z zeroed deep enough, so what should have been 10mm circles were 8mm, making it look a little faint. Other than that, it worked well. I think with the Dewalt 611 it could be run a bit faster (still waiting on that mount). I plan to optimize the source image with a bit more contrast and re-cut it this weekend. Makes for some cool wall art.

5 Likes

Very cool! What material are you using for this?

I just grabbed some cheap birch plywood from HD which I spray painted. Once I get it dialed in, I’ll try some higher quality wood. I’ve seen it done with darker MDF, which is painted white on the surface and also gives nice contrast.

1 Like

You should sign up for this bounty, seems like it would be great for what you’re doing: