Controlling a DeWalt 611 using a SunFounder relay

Hi all. I know there’s a fantastic way of controlling my DeWalt spindle using the IoT ready to go plug, but that is no longer available on Amazon. It’s been out of stock for a while and even the company who makes it doesn’t know when they’re going to be available again.

So, I’m attempting to build my own. I’m a former electrician, so I’m pretty familiar with wiring & whatnot, but for the life of me I have no idea how this works with what I have.

I bought this relay from Amazon
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00E0NTPP4/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I have already wired up a socket so that I can just plug it into the wall, & when the relay is turned on it’ll provide power to the DeWalt. My problem is I do not know where to get 5VDC off the gShield to power the thing.

The pins on the relay are simple. The red is 5VDC, Black ground, and the 2 green are for relays 1 & 2 (although I just need 1 right now) which signal the relay when there is 0VDC on them. I’m 83.22% sure the signal pins are these on the gShield

With a meter, those read +/- 5VDC on them, assuming M03 and M05 switches them.

Where can I, on my gShield board, get a constant 5VDC? I know the 2nd & 3rd pins on that pin set carry 5VDC, but I don’t know why so I don’t know if they shut off or do other things when the system is running.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

The green arrows in the gShield photo point to logic pins. You don’t want to pull power from them.

There is a +5 volt power pin on the Arduino on the other side of the board. It would be next to one of the motor terminal sets.

Two issues with this relay. First is the load capacity. The DeWalt pulls 7 amps running and more during in rush. I wouldn’t want to run those relays that hard.

The other issue is that grbl uses positive logic (High = 5 volts, Low = 0). The inputs to the relay want negative logic (On = 0 volts, Off = 5 volts).