Creating a Stencil Image for overlay on an LED Light?

I’m pretty new to using the Carvey, but I was wondering if it would be possible to carve a logo in a material that can be placed over an LED light. The effect would be like this:

Example

I work at a university and we’d probably use this in our studio to project the university logo on the background, and possibly for usage in live events.

Does anyone know what type of material would work best for something like this?

Thank you!

the picture just looks like a printed wall tbh.

If you’re looking for a projected logo from a cut-out template, just know that you will never get a sharp line unless you keep the focal point in mind. Just slapping a cutout on a lamp will never be sharp. Those types of projectors are probably laser-based.

I just checked out the site that I found the photo from, and it appears to be a service they offer for events:

https://www.talentproductions.ca/lighting/gobo/

They call it “gobo projection”. From looking at wikipedia, it seems like there are in fact some “plastic” or “transparancy gobos” that can work over LED lights, but they’re fairly new.

I guess I’d have to look into how hot our lights get, and which materials may be able to withstand the heat, if any.

You also may be right in that just placing a cutout may not be sufficient. I will have to experiment.

Thanks for the response!

I work at a movie theatre. When I have kids in my projection booth, they always ask if they can make shadow figures in the light beam. Obviously they can’t when a movie is playing :sunglasses:. But even if they were allowed, it would be pointless because the lens focuses on the screen, which is 30 yards away. So making a figure in front of the lens is just making a dark blob appear rather than a clear picture.