Cribbage Board and Card Storage with 3D Carving

Hi There,
This is by far the biggest project I’ve done since the x-carve was finished and dialed in.

I finally finished my custom cribbage board and card storage gift in time for Christmas. (The project took me 3 months).

The basic cribbage scoring holes and tracks are unchanged. However I settled on a 3D Hot Rod Flame design carved in the top to personalise it for the intended recipient. While the bottom has 2D and 3D elements for storing the cards and pins. So I also had to come to terms with 2-sided milling as well.

The flames took the longest. I had no idea how to get a 3D design from a 2D picture. So much googling until I saw something I recognized as the solution. - I wish now I’d taken more notes as I still can’t remember all the details off applying the flame design surface to the 3D model.

I’m a Novice Fusion 360 user and almost every step was a new learning experience. (Both with Fusion and with the x-carve). I now have a bunch of new skills!:grinning:

Thank goodness for the internet! - Youtube, Inventables forum, Autodesk forums, general wood working forums and just googling around was the start to almost every step! I have come to appreciate how people just give information away free.

15 Likes

what kind of wood @waynedollery? size?

I was sitting watching some friends play on Friday and was like “I could totally make that”…ideas, ideas and more ideas. Now to just get my machine dialed in and start making stuff.

Board looks awesome…I think the 3D element on the top of the board adds a nice custom touch.

The board is 90x181mm (When closed). Each side is 20mm deep.

So that’s about 3.5"x 7.125" and each side is 0.79" (Sorry my units conversion is bad).

The Wood was a really heavy piece of Tasmanian Oak. (Similar to red oak).

In retrospect I should have chosen the lighter piece I had in my hand as I think it’s quite heavy to handle.