Cutting out Rings in Easel

I may be over looking something here but here is what i am trying to figure out to do.

Draw about 1/4 inch thickness rings about 3 inches in diameter out of wood.
Then be able to cut the same out in a piece of wood to be able to inlay that ring i already cut out into the recessed ring i cut out in the wood already. am i missing something?

If I understand you correctly you can do that. What problem are you running into?

When i create a circle within a circle to create the ring i want to cut out how do i tell it what thickness to cut the ring out at as well as how to i tell it what thickness to cut the inlay so that they match.

Go to the “shape” menu on the floating tool bar. You can adjust the diameter of the circle there. On the cut menu you want to chose outline. The diameter of the bit will determine the thickness of the cut line.

Hi Zack/ everyone.
Let me first say this; I’m very new to the hobby.
I"m having the same problem and apparently I’m missing some small detail. In Easel I create a circle, set it to cut a pocket. Then I create a second circle, larger and centered over the first. I send this second circle to the back. I set the dept of cut to that of the material. When I preview (or look at the gCode), the only tool path is to the start point. When I run it, I get a pocket the size of the second circle and not a ring. I know it’s me, can someone please point me into the right direction?

Thanks, Fred

All you need to do is highlight the outer circle and set it to cut outside. Just the outer circle and welcome to the forums. Or make the outer circle first and set it to cut the outside then put your center circle in center it and set it to cut a pocket.

1 Like

https://easel.inventables.com/projects/WsAzb_XBbloK4Q-A7PXshg

1 Like

You can resize that or whatever you need.

Thanks WayneHall; I’ll give it a go tonight when I get home.

1 Like

@WayneHall Perfect! Worked like a charm!