Detail pass starts out correct then goes off path

Hi everyone. I’ve been using my X-Carve 1000 for over 3 years and have had pretty good luck, but I am experiencing something new.

I make a lot of cribbage boards and I make the cuts in several stages. After cutting the pegging holes, I cut an MSU design in the center of the board using both roughing and detail passes.
I’m carving into red oak, using a Birch Plywood for the material and no changes to feed or speed.
The roughing cut uses a 1/8” double fluted straight cut end mill and the detail bit uses a 1/32” fishtail spiral bit.
Between each carve, I home the machine (using the stops for X and Y), change the bit and re-zero the Z with the probe.
When starting the detail pass, I pause the machine as it lowers to begin the carve and ensure that it is in the correct position, then un-pause the carve and let it begin.
The first part of the detailed looks great, but then it starts to very slightly off path (negative on the Y axis).

I’ll try to attach a photo so you can see the result.

Any thoughts on what is going on?

Thanks for any assistance,

Brian

Look closely at the GO GREEN letters, then in the helmet things start to go off path and the GO WHITE is even further off.

Thanks,

Brian

Question 1: is it reproducible or happened only once?

Question 2: if it is reproducible does it always behave like this or randomly shifts the Y?

If only happened once, I would say that your material has moved.

Vilmos,

It has happened 3 times.

I am going to try another but change the detail bit to the 1/16" bit and see what happens.

Brian

When you do the bit change do you follow the inventables procedure and home aftet bit swap? Or do you not home, but have the steppers set to lock with $1 and the dip switch Change?

I have set the steppers to lock, but like most of you I find that tightening the collet securely means that changing the bit requires more torque than the steppers can prevent, so movement happens sometimes.