Dewalt dwp611 compact router

I have had my xcarve for 11 months and burnt up two DWP611 compact routers. These routers are $100.00 on Amazon which is 10% of what I paid for the entire machine. I need some answers why these routers keep burning up so quick? Or is this normal for dewalt routers? Can someone Recommend a different router that will have a longer life expectancy? Because these routers are getting pricey, Thank you in advance.

What do you mean by burning them up? Magic smoke? I’ve been running the same router since 2015, and I’ve replaced the brushes twice.

You might just need to install new brushes.
https://www.amazon.com/s?k=dewalt+611+brushes

2 Likes

Still new to the xcarve world, I’ve never installed new brushes on these compact routers, can you provide me with more info? Who would I get new brushes from? (Company, websites) thank you Rich

Mine came with extra brushes. Google how to replace brushes on youtube. I use mine for 6 plus hours 5 days a week never a problem. What’s your problems.

I just learned that it’s more than likely the brushes as my problem, I just you tubed it and it sounds like my problem. Thank you for your input and help.

Here are a couple of videos on changing the brushes. To purchase the brushes look for the link in the description.

Sounds like you now have a couple extra routers in stock.

Thank youfor your help on this issue, when I get some free time I will replace them and let you know the results, Thank you for your help.

You should be running the router no faster than speed setting 1, if you’re running them faster then you’ll shorten their life by a lot.

3 Likes

I also had to replace mine, so what I’ve learned is to not turn it on so quick. Wait till the last minute before it’s ready to engrave or cut and then turn it on. Stay with your machine too. Why leave it alone and then come back and it’s been running all night?

Or, get one of these and it will come on and off automatically.