Diode Lasers - Q & A - Focusing, Lens, Cooling, Diodes, Safety, Parameters & others

Hi!

Since some of you found my first thread valuable I decided to create new thread strictly conected with diode lasers. I’m here and I would like to share some knowledge with you guys. I’m not sure what exactly would you like to know but probably many times you had some questions and maybe there was none who could answer precisely.

I’m mechatronics engineer and I’ve been working with diode lasers for 7 years. You can ask about everything connected with lasers:
electrical and optical parameters, diodes types, differencies, efficiency, focal distance dependancies, lens types, drivers, feedrates, experiments, safety, cooling, materials and probably many more.

Sometimes I may not answer if the question is connected with the company secret for example “What transistor and op amplifier (symbol) do you use in drivers?”

I will try to answer all questions you ask.

Despite this you can send us a samples of a materials and we can prepare the cutting/engraving tests and then post the results. Remember to add a letter with your email address to send you back the photos with results and also include specyfic name of the material, exact type of plastic etc. For shipping use the address below:

Opt Lasers
Tomorrow’s System Sp. z o.o.
Okulickiego 7/9
05-500 Piaseczno
POLAND
+48 515180752

Remember:

1. Try to be specyfic in your questions, of course there may be also general questions
  2. Drawing is the language of the engineers
  3. Be nice :slight_smile:

Mateusz

3 Likes

Great to have you here to answer our questions on lasers. Here’s a quick one, why do some lasers (like the K40) use mirrors, and other lasers don’t need them?

a K40 is WAY more powerful. The laser comes from a glass tube, which is very fragile and expensive, so best kept away from moving parts. That’s why it is usually mounted at the back and the laser beam is redirected through mirrors.