Easel Multistage Carve Question

Hello Group,

I’m new to Easel & the X-Carve & still learning, and doing pretty well…but I’d like to have someone confirm my understanding.

I designed the sign (file attached) for a friend’s anniversary. It’s 30" wide & 12" high. The letters will not be carved, but the pocket around them will be. After playing with different combinations of bits to get the shortest carve time, I’ve determined I need to do a three stage carve…using 1/4", 1/16" & 1/32" bits. So I set my first panel up to use the 1/4" bit as the rough cut, and the 1/16" as the detail bit. In the second panel, I set the 16/16" bit as the rough cut, and the 1/32" bit as the detail bit. My intention is to only run the detail cut of the second panel. So my question…can I assume that the 1/16" detail bit of the first panel would leave the exact same material as the 1/16" roughing bit of the second panel (and therefore I would not have to run the roughing pass)?

Thanks in advance.

Can you share your file you should only need to run 2 bits (detail and roughing). Any way you run this this design it is going to be a time consuming carve. I would test a small area with how you want to run it block out the 29th and try it.

To get the best appearance you will likely want to run a v-bit.

1 Like

Hi Steve,

I tried it with several bit combinations, and the one I described gives me the best detail with about the shortest cutting time. I really don’t want to use a V-bit for the detail, because that would make the text taper from wider at the base, to narrower at the top, and I think that would look odd.

The link to the project is below…it is the right-most two panels at the bottom.

Thanks,
Mike

EDIT: I tried simulating it with a 45* V-Bit and didn’t like it…I don’t think the 45* will be able too go deep enough to clean out inside the letters. I then tried it with a 30* V-Bit and that looks better…I may go with that & a 1/4" rough.

Mike