Easel stopped mid cut, 2 hours wasted. what did I do wrong?

Noob here, but after 2 hours of cutting Easel stopped and said it was complete.

it is far from complete. I don’t know what happened, The picture is where it stopped.

Since I have already posted, might as well address the finish of the carve… why is it so uneven?

Cannot help with the Easel problem, although I’m sure someone will assist.

If you can, consider getting a “downcut” bit instead of the "upcut"style of bit you’re using (while cutting, the spiral ‘moves’ downwards instead of upwards). This tends to leave far cleaner edges for most cuts.

They’re not ideal for every type of cut, because the waste is not pulled from the cut, but the difference in the type of job you’ve shown there will be significant.

Another option that sometimes helps in MDF, is to give the job a coat or two of sanding sealant (or a solution of 20% shellac diluted in methylated spirits) before you begin cutting. This has the effect of hardening up the surface that can assist in producing a cleaner cut.

Speaking of cutting, make sure your tools are as sharp as possible, otherwise, your bit tears the wood out instead of cutting it cleanly. Sometimes, a straight fluted bit can produce a cleaner cut, simply because the cutting action isn’t pulling the material “upwards”.

The day they make a “Tool that’s perfect for every job”, I’ll be first in line to buy a few…

2 Likes

FYI all, there is malware embedded in the postimg.org link from the image in this post. Don’t click the Play or Download links above the image.

1 Like

@ChrisByrne nice pick up. Any idea on what it is or what it does?

I opened it and saw the options to run or play something above the image, but as far as I know, I didn’t run anything.

This was done on the el cheapo PC laptop I use just for running VCarve, so I guess I’m not overly exposed. Scanning now…