End mill for 3/4" Plywood

Hello everyone,

I’m looking for a good end mill I can use for cutting pockets, holes, and perimeters in 3/4" birch plywood. I’m debating between the 1/8" straight cut available here on inventables or a 1/4" down-cut. I’m having some trouble finding bits that have the proper length for 3/4" ply.

Looking for good value as I’m a beginner.

Any and all info or recommendations are welcome. Thanks!

A lesson I wish I had learned earlier … be very certain to use downcut bits for plywood.

The Inventables ones are good and fairly priced, I think. An ebay seller named drillman1 offers a huge range of bits with great service and good prices if you need something longer.

1 Like

Unfortunately, both down-cut bits on inventables and drillman1 only have a cutting depth of 17 mm or ~0.69", not the 0.75" I need. Do you know of any other places I could look?

It would take some testing but you could do 1 pass with a downcut to go a quarter inch down and then finish with the longer bit. That may alleviate the tear out issue.

Not a bad idea! Probably will need to tool change in most projects anyways. Do you have any experience with 1/4" bits? any cutting performance difference? I have the standard dewalt 611 on 1000mm

No, not much. I’m sure someone will be by with some learned advice.

I get my 1/8" down cut bits from Inventables and cut thru 3/4" material all the time. Also keep in mind plywood is ussually not 3/4".

I checked my 3/4 ply and sure enough one board is .703 inches and the other is .733. The neon yellow, 1/8" down cut from inventables is working great for me. Thanks for the suggestion.

Bonus: I learned the hard way you need a waste sheet directly under your cut or it will blow out the bottom of the plywood. a 1/2" sheet of mdf has been working well for me.