Entering Ball Nose bits in Easel Toolbox

Hi all! Newbee here…I recently purchased the Easel Pro software and I am slowly figuring it out (with a lot of help from reading this forum!). My question is how I would enter the bits shown here. The shank is 1/8" but the diameter is listed as .5mm, and ball radius as .25mm. Thank you so much for the help!

2 Likes

Patti,

Well Easel is not setup Quite yet for tapered ball nose yet. but if use R=0.25mm as cutter size.
you might want to do a couple test carves on that.

happy carven

Ok. Thank you so much, I will try that!

Ok…again, newbie here, lol. Is there a reason I would do .25mm instead of .5mm? Is it listed as .25mm radius and .5mm diameter because it is a ball shape and it won’t make contact with the full tip?

1 Like

Na, It was pull out of mid-air and/or a random number.

Happy carven

Patty, that’s the same taper bit I use. This carve is on the small side, being 4 inches by 4 inches. I just put it in the system as the tip being close to 1/32 or .03125in. I roughed with a 1/16 bit and then used the taper bit with a manual setting equivalent to approximately .03in:

4 Likes

great job!!

1 Like

I was wondering the same thing myself. Easel only has one default ball nose right now at 1/8". Smaller, more detailed carvings will need something a bit more refined, such as a 1/16" but there’s no option for making it a ball nose. This is also the case for upcut bits. You can enter the diameter but not cut direction (upcut or downcut). I wish they would expand the customization for bits just a little more. I use a 1" wasteboard flattening bit for my cutting boards but the only option I have is to enter a custom bit width of 1" and then guess on the parameters. Maybe someday soon.

1 Like

That is so beautiful!! Thank you so much for the information!

1 Like

Ball Bits and Tapered Ball Bits should be entered as a BALL Bit using the Tip Diameter.
In this case 0.5mm (=0.019685")