Extra passes, between layers

Hi there, I am new to xcarve, ugcs, and arduino. I’m super excited to have my machine “up and running”.
I have been using xcarve to created my models, and UGCS to send the commands to my machine. I am working on a simple name sign for my nephew. Here is the issue that I have. It is responding to the code, but it seems that there are 3 or 4 passes of the same layer with no cutting, just the motions of cutting. It’s been on this M for 15 minutes. What have I done incorrectly, or were there settings that I didn’t pay attention to? Thanks for any help!

Edit: I totally misread the above. Nevermind…

Was the first layer actually cutting wood?

I will assume that the first cut was correct and cutting wood, then the next few passes (where the tool should have been lowered into the material) were not cutting any new material.

There are a few things that can cause this behavior. The simplest is that the bit is not tight in the collet and it is simply sliding up. Easy to fix, just be sure the collet is tight (and you are using the correct collet for the shank size of your bit).

The next possible issues is that the Depth of Cut (DOC) is set to small, so that each pass is only moving down a very tiny amount. Check to be sure your DOC is between 10% and 50% the diameter of the cutting tool.

Lastly, your Z axis may have a mechanical issues. If the threaded rod is binding, or the Z pulley is slipping on the motor shaft then the Spindle will not move down as expected. You can check for binding by removing the Z drive belt and turning your threaded rod by hand, it should turn smoothly for the spindles entire range of motion. If it feels tight or difficult to turn, find out why.

If the set screws in the Z pulley are loose (or missing) then the pulley will slip and not be able to provide enough torque to move the spindle downward.