F-Engrave Noob needs help

So I finally got myself a V-bit and wanted to do some V-carves. I’ve only used easel and have not touched any of the G-Code stuff so I have zero experience fiddling around with it (also a little intimidated by it). So I installed F-Engrave and tried to find as much info as I could on using it.

I think I got the settings figured out, but after I have the G-Codes saved. Now what? How do I import it in to Easel? or do I need to send it to something else? once set up with easel, is it the same as an easel carve, just home my bit to the lower left? or if I have it start from center in F-engrave should I home it there? I don’t really want to mess anything up, just want to have some idea of what I’m doing before I start.

Thanks again guys!

Thanks Phil!

Searched For F-engrave stuff, not much came up. Browsed through that post, some very insightful stuff!

1 Like

maybe a stupide question…
but if the zeroing manualy done in easel it’s satisfying for my use
will it be beginer-userfriendly to send it with easel ?

okay many thanks
yep i use the paper trick to make my zero

it’s juste i’ve tried UGS one time…
i launch the zeroing, detroy my z limit switch, and nerver tried again XD

ho i finaly… after 2h research, find how to make the gcode compatible…
(thx G64 P0.001)…

well now i need some freetime to test this !

(let’s seach for feedrate etc recomandation…)

sorry if this has been asked before, did my first v-carve and it turned out ok, then ran the cleanup pass with my 1/8 straight endmill the depth of carve was about an 1/8" which it carved out in one pass and made a horrible sound. I don’t see anywhere that you can set the depth per pass for the cleanup as I’d rather do multiple passes with the cleanup.

1 Like

Little late, but here is my process. Metric.

1. Start F-Engrave

2. Main Window > File > Open DXF/Bitmap File

3. Main Window > Set preferences
    Image properties