F-engrave sizing?

I’m new to the x-carve and was wondering about sizing your carves in F-engrave. I’ve tried looking it up and I’ve probably seen it but it just didn’t register with me. Is it determined by the size of the image you’re working with in inkscape or is there some setting in F-engrave that lets you determine the size or is that set up in your controller software. I was just wondering because I wanted to do a test carve on a mason jar tag and didn’t know how to get it down to that size.

1st option:
If you are bringing in an image (DXF or picture) you set the “Image Height” in the upper right corner of the main F-Engrave window. The width will be scaled to maintain the aspect ratio unless you stretch or squeeze it by changing the “Image Width” setting to something other than 100%.

2nd option:
If you have a DXF file made to the size you want you can set the “Set Height as %” option in F-Engrave. Then F-Engrave will use the dimensions from the DXF file multiplied by the entered percentage. Use 100% to maintain the size in the DXF file.

2 Likes

Thank you, I thought that might be it but wasn’t certain.

One thing that tripped me up was cutting depth when v-carving was controlled by ‘bit diameter’. Just fyi.

Having trouble with positioning on F-engrave. What’s the best way to set up a carve and have it centered? I have used the default origin with a bump stop and haven’t had much luck, tried jogging to get to a relative area but I’m not happy with the results. Also tried creating a dxf to preserve the dimensions but for some reason it doesn’t recgonize my dxf’s from illustrator. Been grasping at straws for the past few days over it and figured either @Scorch or @PhilJohnson could help me out?

This may be a dumb question but why can’t you use the “Mid-Center” origin option it will put the origin in the center your image?