Feedback from Pro owners

I’m still waiting delivery of the 2x4 X-carve Pro I ordered in December. I haven’t seen any reviews or comments on overall satisfaction from those who’ve received shipment. I’m getting both nervous and excited. Any general reviews, comments, concerns? I have some experience in the engineering field and understand there’s the element of glitches and delays to overcome on new machine builds/designs. Just looking for a little insight of what to expect. Thanks in advance for any input.

3 Likes

Hey @DanBrewington ,

First time CNC Owner, and my first choice was the X Carve Pro.

While i’ve looked at the original X Carve before, it looked a bit DIY. Dewalt router, some rails, a raspberry pi setup, etc.

The X Carve Pro however feels and looks like a solid machine. No plastic pieces. Everything is beautiful in a nice black powder coated matte/satin finish.

The ONLY issue I had wasn’t the machines fault, and was me not tensioning a belt properly. Once that was resolved, i’ve been great ever sense.

The machine is super quick. I have only recently started adjusting the manual settings. I will say, the “Automatic” settings for certain things are EXTREMELY conservative. I’ve been able to run the machine w/ automatic settings @ 200% speed, and everything came out great.

Example: With a 1/8" downcut bit was taking 4 1/2 hours (estimate). I was able to get that down to about 25min with adjusted settings.

Overall, i’m happy.

3 Likes

I have had mine for about a month and half and I have about 50 hours on it already. The build was easy and the machine is very solid. It is a new release so it has a few minor bugs. For one it is blowing circuits with GFIs, you may see the post on this. The dust-shoe orifice is too big and a lot of material escapes the dust mitigation but this is easily resolved with a cover. Overall I am very excited about this machine.

3 Likes