"Firewater" votive holder

Was looking for something quick to do this afternoon, and something the Mrs may actually want around the house :slight_smile: Decided to make a votive candle holder out of some scrap cherry.

I made the 3d model for this in Autodesk Maya, tweaking their ocean shader, and converting that to displace mesh.

Used a 1/4" ballnose for both the roughcut and final pass, toolpath generated via Meshcam, sent to the X-Carve via Chilipeppr. Whole cut took 40 minutes.

I’m pleased with the results. Slapped some light stain on it, and the grain really popped.

11 Likes

Note, I’ve added the stl to Thingiverse if anyone else would like to cut it.

That’s awesome. I’ve never tried Maya before. I use Fusion 360 most of the time. How does Maya compare?

Maya is very different from F360: It’s (arguably, in the argue-category level of religion\politics for those that are into such things) the most popular 3d authoring tool for vfx\film\game CG development: So it can do sooo much more than Fusion360. However, it’s not a solid-modeler: It deals in polygons, NURBS, and sub-d’s, and isn’t designed for the type of precision CAD work that Fusion360 (or SolidWorks, Onshape, Freecad, etc) is. I’ve just been using it since… 98’? So I’m pretty familiar with it :wink:

Made another one this weekend. Pretty rewarding to spend 60 minutes in Maya, and 60 minutes on the X-Carve:

I wish I knew what I was doing :frowning: Do you use the newest subscription Maya? (It is out of my price range). Can you recommend some good tutorial/videos to follow?

Ultimately I want to create textures and mill them onto table tops.

I modified the original to not be as high and have slightly rounder waves, and that took way longer then 60 minutes for me to modify the file. Memento was used to bring into fusion (quads).

CAM takes like 10 minutes for me. 47 minute cut time, and very little sanding.

1 Like

Hey, that looks great! I really should sand my stuff :stuck_out_tongue: