First cabinet with cabinet maker

I’ve been wanting to try out the cabinet maker feature for a while this is my first attempt. I use 3/4 MDF .75 with my calipers. I probed for z every time I changed bits.
1" bit to hog the majority of the center panels followed by 90 degree
1/4" bit for everything else.

I’m wondering why all my tenons were really fat I had to trim them on the table saw to get them to fit the blind dados. Also squared up the tenons with a chisel helped assemble.

My first question being once assembled should the back be flush with the sides and the top and bottom be flush with the sides? Suggestions for fixing ? If I trim my tenons more to make the top and bottom sit flush with the sides of the case I feel like the joint will be way too loose

The “pocket” easel generated to make the stub tenons was set to cup depth .36 to leave behind .39 of material.
I have 0.75 for material thickness and the “width” of the grooves for the stub tenons generated was correct @.39 but the actual widths for the grooves cut are .35

Door bow with fresh start BM primer

1 Like

Mike,

Did you happen to check the thickness of the mdf to ensure it was exactly 0.75" thick? That may cause some problems if the material thickness in Easel is .75" but the material is actually over/under that thickness.

-Jonathan

1 Like

Yes .75 with my calipers. They arnt high end calipers tho

I am checking my tram now and front to back in off about 1/16" difference . I think I need to shim the router true

10-4, yep, that could also play a part (in reference to the tramming). Have you flattened your spoil board recently as well?

So many things to think about!

Edit: If you still run into trouble you could always give butt joints a shot.

-Jonathan

1 Like

I trimmed the onefinity as best I could. It’s not 100% since I don’t have a dial indicator. Used shims between The gantry and resurfaced my spoil board. I’m going to cut another cabinet this afternoon and see how the joinery turns out.