First multi-layer text sign

I used Easel for this and found it incredibly easy to make text-on-text signage. Once the v-carve feature becomes available for Easel, I’m not sure I’ll need any other software for the types of signs that I make. I’ve only had my cnc for a little over a month, so having something simple like Easel to help me make more complicated designs is a huge advantage for me. I’m not technically savvy like a lot of folks here. Now the next step is to figure out how to stain this bad boy with multiple colors. That shouldn’t be frustrating at all! Tell me what you guys think about this.

32 Likes

Nicely done .what kind of wood did you use?

Looks awesome. I like the layered approach.

This is just 1x12 select pine from the local store. I think it’s 2 ft. long.

1 Like

I tried the layered approach using Inkscape and other programs, but the process was very confusing and frustrating for me. With Easel, I had it designed in under 10 minutes. So much easier. I’m sure there are things with the process that might be done better in these other programs, but for my purposes, this came out perfect.

That looks great! How do you plan to finish it?

1 Like

This turned out great! What fonts did you use and about how long did this take to carve? Did you do a two-step carve or use a single bit for the whole project?

I’ve seen a lot of these on Etsy and Google, so this was the idea. I’m just not sure how to go about this without screwing it up.

2 Likes

I know I used Lavanderia for the cursive font and Cinzel for the “Established” portion. I don’t remember exactly what was used for the last name. Easel - Treadway Name Sign