Flag Stars

Help! My tars are turning out like starfish on my flag. I am using a 90 degree v carve bit. Everything is tight.

Sorry About the picture.

How are you setting the z height?

Also, can you share the file for me to look at

Your z zero is set too low, or your z is topping out and loosing steps, or the bit slipped down in the collet
Most likely is z zero issue…
Here’s how I make flags so much less work than strips :+1:

All of your stars are consistent. The z axis is not being set correctly. The vbit needs to come to the surface to get that sharp point. Your carving is not doing that. If it was skipping steps then you would most likely have inconsistent stars.

Easel - Copy of 50 stars American flag FINAL.html (142.1 KB)
Hopefully this is what you are asking for. Thank you very much for your help.

How do set it correctly . I am zeroing on the x y axis and putting the bit on the surface before raising and carving. please excuse my ignorance I am new to carving.

I am just using the default z retract height adjustment.

that file won’t work as intended, You’d need to share the link as shown here:
https://inventables.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/360023445034-How-to-make-your-Easel-project-accessible-to-everyone-making-your-Easel-project-public-

depending on how your design is configured, your Z location may be at a lower (Z Height) place in your board than the actual carve area… If you notice in my video, when I go to set Z zero for the stars, I place the spindle in the center of the Union to set Z Zero. this is one of the reasons I prefer to use the separate program to send the gcode, but this can also be done in Easel IF you are using a Probe, OR if you adjust the design so that the Union is centered over X0,Y0.