Fully Submerged Aluminum Cutting

I’ve got an idea thats been proposed before but haven’t seen many examples of - upgrading my X-Carve with a fully water-submerged bed to improve cooling while cutting aluminum. Considering ordering a number of these expensive extrusions + T-nuts from Misumi to replace the wasteboard:

I came across some very affordable (about $6 each) USA-made end mills for aluminum, which sparked this idea. Currently spending $20 each on Kodiak end mills that only lasts a number of hours before dulling, making it nearly cost-prohibitive to cut aluminum.

Would keep the water level very close to the top of the material so the blower in the Dewalt 611 would hopefully move some chips out of the way of the end mill, and would use my X-Carve exclusively for aluminum.

Should I go for it? Any things I should take into consideration?

I am no expert on the matter but have been considering upping my game relative to chip clearing/cut/surface quality.
Cooling is only one part of the equation. At the moment I am using an air mister in combination with denatured alcohol, a little cooling but primarily lubrication (alcohol) and chip clearing (air).

To make chips clear you need something to wash them away, stationary (relative) body of water provide nothing of that.
Flooding on the other hand does - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OalLankCkmE&t=265s

The aluminium extruded bed will form a nice basis for draining allowing a flood system to be used.

1 Like

I would consider (and would prefer) a flood cooling system if not too expensive or difficult to implement. Searched and primarily found air misters rather than flood systems.

Maybe something like this nozzle combined with a fountain water pump could work?

Also do you think a submerged bed would be harder to clear the chips than without?

Thanks for your help.

1:
Yes, basically that is it. Low cost DIY = fountain pump. Or if inclined go higher-end flood specific systems.

2: