Fusion 360 post configuration for picsender

Hi all, I am new to using picsender, (let’s be honest I am new to xcarve altogether). Does anyone know which post configuration I should use when creating gcode for picsender?

I am going to try: grbl.cps - Generic Grbl

Alright so here is where I am at.

1. Picsender works to control the xcarve.
  2. below are the first 2 screen shots when I start the program

1. the next 2 pics are my settings

1. I load @CharleyThomas zeroing code and it of course runs flawlessly. the next 2 pics are the code loaded then the screen after it has run.

1. I try to do a text carve, just carving out a 3x3x0.25 square of a block of wood, expect it to look like this when I am done

1. I used fusion360 to draw it up and selected grbl.cps - Generic Grbl as post processor. Here is the Gcode file

3x3x0.25 carving.nc (7.0 KB)

1. I load the gcode, the next 2 pics give the first 20+ lines of code

1. immidiate error as soon as I send my code before anything happens. here is the error

If anyone has any advice on what I need to do differently, it would be greatly appreciated. @picengravertoo @CharleyThomas I am looking over at you 2…

I think it may have to do with the post processor I am selecting in fusion360 to generate the gcode, but i really don’t know what I am talking about.

Any help or advice is greatly appreciated!

Unless you are carving a raster image, you should check the “Vector Gcode” box.

Be careful using that post processor as it has included a G28 command, which, if set up properly, is ok. If not set up properly it can be a disaster.

Error 1 indicates grbl was expecting a command letter and the letter it got was not valid (most likely the % sign at the beginning).

I don’t use Fusion 360, but you might want to try the post processor talked about in this thread:

2 Likes

I agree with @LarryM

2 Likes