Fusion Gcode import Troubleshooting

I’m new to X-carve here, so thanks for the help upfront. When exporting my (gcode) .nc file from Fusion 360 and importing the gcode into easel, my carve is offset from the material. In fusion my simulated cut looks great and is lined up with the center of the material. I’ll include a picture of what easel is importing. In my fusion cam setup I have my Work Coordinate System set to the bottom left of the material with the Z axis on the top of the material. Not sure how to go about getting easel to center my cut. Also I am using the Fusion360.cps from easel when exporting my gcode.

Thanks for any advice or tips!!!

46 PM

That box in Easel represents the extents of your gcode. It does not represent your stock.

It looks like you need to move the origin stock point to be the center of the stock instead of the lower left.

Thanks for the super quick replies! I’ll try that right now and report back. Thanks!

That was the issue. Last question for now, when I start my carve do I still set my work home to the lower left of the material or the center of the stock?

Thanks

What was the issue?

Wherever you set it in Fusion.

1 Like

The Issue that was resolved I think was moving the origin stock point to the center of stock in Fusion fixed it being off centered in easel. Now I just need to make sure homing my X-carve to the center of my material will cut where i expect it to. I think I will do a test cut in the air just to see the positioning of the cutting tool first.

@TylerCrowder That will work perfectly fine, but I don’t think there was an issue in the first place. Like I commented earlier, that box in Easel does NOT represent your stock. It represents the max and min for the XYZ travel. The same is true when you set your WCS origin to the center of your stock. There is no way Easel would know the dimensions of your stock.
How big is your stock? (I’m guessing about 2.5" square)

stock is 1.5 x 1.5 x 1 inch