Future X-Carve Owner

I am a Disabled Veteran Looking to get into CNC wood carving. I would like to make some wood art/plaques for fellow Veterans in the VAMC,for them to paint… Until I save enough money to purchase an X-carve, I was wondering, since I am new to the whole CNC bit, Is their a way I can practice some on the EASEL software? Reading through info and watching youtube I think putting the X-Carve together wont be too difficult. Designing the product will be the challenge. I thought I could practice designing. Then when I purchase my E-Carve, I will be ready to go. This is my thought at least. I am just seeking some thought and guidance. GOD BLESS and thank you in advance.

1 Like

Yes you can. I did the same thing. Setup an account on easel and starting learning. I knew nothing when I began. And yes putting the x carve is not that hard. Read the assembly instructions. It will help a lot when you begin the actual build.

Also read through the forum. You can learn so much and the folks are great. I have my x carve for only about three months an I love it

Thank You. Gonna try that.

Just made my first design. Thanks @PhillipLunsford

Hi Sam, welcome!

If you want to “simulate” what you’ve created in Easel you can download and use a program called CAMotics.

First, in Easel, you export a G-Code file of your work. You can find the export function under MACHINE > ADVANCED.

Then GENERATE G-CODE.

Then EXPORT G-CODE

That’ll save out a .nc file of your work.

Second, in CAMotics, open the .nc file you saved out from Easel.

Then, you should see a preview of your work. Then you just hit the PLAY button and watch it cut! =)

You can speed the cut up, slow it down, and turn items on and off. Fun stuff.

Enjoy!

You can also download demo versions of Vectric products like VCarve and Aspire. Www.vectric.com

Thank You @Jason.

@MarcCohen, How long will the Demo Version Last? Will I eventually need to purchase the software?

Thanks @RobertCanning.