G sheild getting hot

So from day one I’ve never been able to put my gshield into my the gshield box. I have it laying on top with the fans and everything blowing air on it. Ive been carving like this for about 3 months now. Well I decided to put the thing back into the box. Of course it did not work at all so I pulled it back out. Now when I turn it on, the green indicator lights light up and stay lit, I can hear a slight hum coming from the steppers, but only the ones corresponding with the light that is on. Now I have went into easel setup and reset everything up, and it moves but the lights go on and off like normal as it moves, but sometimes it just stays on with the motor humming away. I have taken the wires off and reattached them all…xyz axis and the now the gshield itself is starting to get hot like a ground is bad or something. I could never get the arduino and shield to pair inside the shield case that’s why I have it outside. Im thinking maybe the shield is shorting out or something… Help at wits end

Sounds like they are not properly plugged in.

that’s what it feels like. If I just power the shield minus the usb cable it powers up and lights on like normal…but as soon as I plug in the usb, The carve motors engage and the lights stay on and the shield starts getting warm.

just at a loss because I have taking dang thing apart like 20 times, to seat and reseat, maybe its still wrong

Without power to the Arduino the gShield doesn’t have logic power either. The 24 volt power supply is mainly there for the stepper motor voltage, but without the Arduino running the motors don’t turn on.

You may have your current limits for the stepper motors set too high. This would cause the stepper drivers to overheat and go into thermal shutdown (the driver chips get too hot so they turn off). Once they cool down a little they come back on and if the current limit is set too high they go right back into thermal shutdown.