Going from Inventor to Inkscape to Easel

Over the past year, I have struggled to take objects from Autodesk Inventor (which I really like) to Easel. Through reading on this forum and working with the programs, I have come up with a “how-to” set of directions that I use to teach my students the basics of taking their designs from Inventor through Inkscape to Easel and on to carving. I have included them here in case anyone else wants to use this software combination (which is free to many) and save having to work through all of the issues. I have attached the guide I give to the students, and would appreciate any advice if someone has a better way to do things, as I am still rather new at this. This guide assumes that you have set up a G28 and G30 on your machine.

How to Carve 3-18 - Forum version.doc (38.5 KB)

1 Like

Here is a video I did for my students doing the same thing. (minus the Inkscape)

I liked the video but I do not have any audio associated with it when I open it. Is there a link with audio or could I be doing something wrong? I tried to open it directly from the site and save it to my computer with no difference.

I tried to reproduce your method, and ran into an error importing the .dxf file into Inkscape, making me thing that I did something wrong in making the projected geometry. I will continue to work on this, as it saves the step of converting to sheet metal which seems like an irreversible process in Inventor

Hey John,
There’s actually no audio in the video. The method I used skips inkscape as the dxf can be converted to an svg online. I had them remove any depth features, like the fillets in the example, that added unnecessary paths to their dxf. It would be easier to just have them avoid those features, but that particular project had a 3d print option.