Guarding of X Carve

Hi folks
Anyone have some ideas on how we can guard the X-Carve machines in schools. Need to meet Australian Standards. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Ta Darren

do you have some sort of reference for the requirements necessary to adequately guard a machine?

at a guess you could put it within a total enclosure and spec a decent thickness polycarbonate viewing panel.
with the spindle setup on a relay you could have the machine powered down before opening the enclosure/access the xcarve

1 Like

You will likely need a full enclosure, probably with a latched cover or door.

https://discuss.inventables.com/search?q=enclosure

These guys would do a great job. :wink:

2 Likes

Without the requirements we can only speculate.

Hi Darren

Aus Standards either come into place when designing a machine or protecting from injury from a machine.

Being a mech engineer myself and now work in safety and setup a few workshops and safe work procedures, and grew up with my dad who was a high school woodwork teacher I believe a school like a Carpentry and Engineering workshop is the guarding as alot of machines are dangerous out of the box. Like in a Carpentry shop, Fitter Shop, school Woodwork Shop you would “risk access” the machinery and surrounding area that it would be installed.

Generally for a small bench cnc will be clothing getting caught in the belts, fingers pinched in the running gantry, fingers in the spindle / cutter or exposed power leads and lose cables

So in regards to guarding you could:

• modify the machinery but once you start could get alot more difficult
  • setup a yellow handrail barrier limiting access to the machine and the area - generally 1 to 1.1m is sufficient
    or
  • setup a full flip down polycarbonate cover which will suppress some sound but will also reduce some accessibility - but introduces a drop down risk of the cover onto fingers
    or